Reading Time With Little One ( The Importance of Psalms)

I know I stated a couple of post back the importance of reading to our little ones in the womb. Over the past couple of months, I have been reading to my son the book of Psalm. Throughout this time, I have questioned should I really be focused on Psalms. Naturally, I thought of reading Proverbs, instilling wisdom. I plan to read the book to him, but I really wanted to start in Psalms without totally understanding why. The only reason I had, was to instill a mind of praise and worship in his heart. To hear the praises of God continually going up would give him the mindset to praise Him in all situations. To be bold and his praise and worship to God. I know this hasn’t been one of my strongest traits, so I wanted to make sure it is in my children spirit before they come out the womb.
As I read Ps. 46 this morning, the first couple of verses caught my attention. Verse 1: “God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Verse 2: Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea…” It goes on to verse three and so on. As I continued to read I was encouraged with verses 7, 10-11. It’s not like I never heard these verses before, but it is always encouraging to read them once more. As I read and explained the verses to my baby’s spirit, it started to occur to me another reason I needed to read the Psalms to him.
I have been studying Arthur Burk’s c.d. ‘Ministering to Babies in the Womb‘ (great material by the way :)), when Arthur was explaining the importance of building a joy base for the child. It’s al tool for nurturing our babies. It’s the baseline emotion for us humans, our foundation. You want a huge joy base for your child. It’s important since the joy of the Lord is our strength. We will experience other emotions-pain, hurt, etc, but how long will it take to return to joy?
This all flooded my mind and it came to me that David was a great example of this. He experienced great pain, disappointment and hurt, even wondered if God heard his cries, but if you ever continue to read the whole chapter, he always returns to a state of praise and joy, knowing that yes, my God has heard me, He has rescued me, He is awesome and wonderful! He knew how to return to that joy base!
I realized as I express my excitement to my son of his coming and read the Psalms of David’s great example and the other writers who wrote the book, I am creating a huge joy base for him! That bring joy to my heart as a mother that I am on the right track. I am reading what He needs at this time. With everything going on in our world, it is ever so important to develop that joy of the Lord into our children so that they may have strength to continue in this race.

3 thoughts on “Reading Time With Little One ( The Importance of Psalms)

  1. Pingback: Damage Control | Wayfarer

  2. Pingback: Inspiring Bible Verses About The Mercy Of God Psalms 108:4 | Inspirational Christian Quotes

  3. Pingback: Hope Thou In God | justelisabeth

Leave a Reply

